The DUR board is composed of 20 total members: 17 physicians and pharmacists who provide services across the entire population of Medicaid recipients and who represent different specialties, two representatives from Medicaid managed care organizations as nonvoting members, and a consumer advocate representing people enrolled in the Medicaid program.

Physicians and pharmacists positions

  • Robert L. Hogue, M.D., F.A.A.F.M. (Brownwood)  (Chair)
  • RoxAnn Dominguez, Pharm. D, BCPP (Cedar Park) (Vice-chair)
  • J. Nile Barnes, Pharm. D., BCPS (Dripping Springs)
  • Deborah E. Briggs, M.D. (Austin)
  • Patrick G. Clay, Pharm. D., FCCP, CCTI (Fort Worth)
  • Deeatra S. Craddock, Pharm. D, BCACP (Carrollton)
  • Laura E. Ferguson, M.D. (Round Rock)
  • Toribio R. Garcia, M.D., M.B.A., R.Ph. (Corpus Christi)
  • Melbert "Bob" C. Hillert, Jr., M.D. (Dallas)
  • Alejandro D. Kudisch, M.D., D.F. A.P.A. (McAllen)
  • Maurice N. Leibman, M.D. (Houston)
  • Jill N. Lester, Pharm. D. (Dallas)
  • Thanhhao T. Ngo, Pharm. D. (Austin)

Medicaid managed care positions

  • Salil V. Deshpande, M.D., M.B.A. (Sugar Land)
    • UnitedHealthcare
  • Joseph J. Vazhappilly, Pharm. D., M.B.A. (Irving)
    • Molina Healthcare of Texas

Consumer advocate position

  • Dennis A. Borel (Austin)

Vacancies and application process

The Texas HHS Executive Commissioner (or designated agent) appoints board members. Questions on membership and candidacy can be directed to Texas HHS by email.

The following positions are vacant.  Applications have been received and the posting is closed.

  • Two pharmacists (term ending Aug. 31, 2020)
  • One pharmacist (term ending Aug. 31, 2022)
  • One adult psychiatry specialist (term ending Aug. 31, 2020)
  • One physician, any specialty (term end Aug. 31, 2022)